St. Mary's edges Catlin Gabel for fourth-straight title

Crusaders defend 3A girls title, Nyssa runs away with boys meet
May 19, 2012

MONMOUTH - Senior Sarah Bennion won another three individual events and led St. Mary's of Medford to a fourth-straight state track and field title Saturday at Western Oregon University.

Bennion won the 1,500 meters, the 800 and the 300 hurdles for the second straight year, and anchored the second-place team in the 4x400 relay to give the Crusaders a 72-68 victory over Catlin Gabel of Portland.

The title was the second for St. Mary's at Class 3A after two titles at Class 2A.

Nyssa won the 3A boys meet with 73 points, 10 better than Dayton.

At Class 2A, Central Linn won the boys meet, while Portland Christian claimed the girls title.

Damascus Christian won the Class 1A boys title, while Condon/Wheeler won the girls title.


Fresh scent descends on wrestling finals

Roseburg, Culver win, but three other team titles change hands
Feb. 25, 2012 / By Cliff Pfenning, oregonsports.com

Roseburg and Culver defended the state wrestling titles, but three of the five other classification battles went to new schools, including Dallas, which won its first title at Class 5A.

Dallas won two weights to edge Pendleton, 164-150, and move up from second in 2011, its best previous finish.

"We're extremely proud of what our guys have been able to accomplish," Dallas coach Paul Olliff said afterward. "There's a lot of hard work by volunteer coaches and dads of the guys that made this happen."

Cascade won at Class 4A, only it second title, while Nyssa won at 3A, which ended a 10-year title run by Burns.

Culver won its sixth-straight title at Class 2A, having won each title since the state expanded to six classes in 2007.

Cascade narrowly defeated defending champion Henley, 188-185.5 getting the deciding points in a head-up battle between the schools. Cody Crawford, a junior seeded first, beat Phillip Morgan, a sophomore seeded second, 10-0 in the 182-pound final. Had Morgan won, Henley would have won the team race.

Four seniors won their fourth title: Quinn Johnston of Gold Beach, Joey Delgado of Hermiston, Zac Brunson of Churchill and Brandon Griffin of Sprague.

Wilson had two champions: sophomore Austin Wallace-Lister at 120 pounds, and senior Brian Wohan at 195, doubling the school total since the OSAA began sanctioning championships in 1948. Wilson finished 12th.

Roseburg won its third straight title with a whopping 237 points that more than doubled the second-place total of David Douglas, which edged Crater 102-101.5.

Culver overcame a solid challenge by Lowell to win 132-118.5.

Nyssa narrowly slipped past Willamina, 171-165, moving from a first-place tie when Sebastian Sanchez won at 195.



Roseburg wins its way toward title defense

Culver in dogfight for 2A crown
Feb. 24, 2012 / By Cliff Pfenning, oregonsports.com

Roseburg took over the Class 6A state wrestling tournament with eight semifinalists Friday at Memorial Coliseum, while the 10-year run of titles by Burns unofficially came to an end.

The Indians's quarterfinalists each won two matches, including and upset by unseeded junior Brody Faas of second-seeded Jay Devera of McMinnville in the first round at 138 pounds.

Roseburg amassed 102 points, which nearly doubled second-place Sprague's 53 points. David Douglas was third at 50 points.

The remaining four title races were highly competitive, beginning with Class 2A, where five-time defending champion Culver was tied with Lowell at 27 points, and both had eight semifinalists.

At Class 5A, Hermiston's five-year run as champion was headed for an end as Dallas (83) and Pendleton (78) battled for the lead, well ahead of the Bulldogs' total (58.5).

Caascade (91), Crook County (88) and defending champion Henley (84) are dueling for the Class 4A title.

Burns, which has a 10-year run of titles at Class 3A, is in seventh place with 40 points, well behind upstart Willamina, which is leading pre-tournament favorite Nyssa 81-69.

The semifinals and finals conclude Saturday.



The 10-year run of state titles appears likely to be at an end for Burns High as the OSAA state wrestling championships prepare to play out at Memorial Coliseum Friday and Saturday.

The Hilanders have just two underclassmen seeded first or second and aren't even rated in the top 3 at Class 3A, according to the Oregon Wrestling Forum. The 10-year run, which began in 2002 when the state had just three classifications, is the longest of any school in the sport and second only to the David Douglas girls swim team's run of 14-straight titles from 1967-81.

Hermiston, the Class 5A champion, has won five straight titles, but also appears in jeopardy of having that streak end as Dallas is a significant favorite with Pendleton and Churchill also competing for title recognition.

Roseburg, at Class 6A, Henley at Class 4A and Culver at Class 2A, appear ready to defend their titles - Culver running it's string to six consecutive titles.

Individually, four wrestlers will be aiming for their fourth title: Blake Griffin of Sprague, Joey Delgado of Hermiston, Zac Brunson of Churchill and Quinn Johnson of Gold Beach.


RSS feed