Sunset ends Tualatin's title hopes

An overtime win boosts the Apollos forward in rare road win
Nov. 6, 2012

Sunset sophomore Alexann Bibo scored in the eighth minute of overtime to boost Sunset to a 2-1 victory over top-ranked Tualatin in the second round of the Class 6A girls soccer playoffs Tuesday night in a rematch of last year's title game.

Tualatin won the 2011 final in penalty kicks, but the Apollos didn't let the game get that far, holding the host Timberwolves scoreless in two 10-minute overtime halves.

The Apollos advanced to the quarterfinal round as the lone 6A road team to win Tuesday night, which saw a number of upsets in other classifications - particularly in matches that involved No. 5 seeds.

A No. 5 seed won at Class 5A, 4A and 3A to provide an underdog in all four playoff brackets heading into the weekend quarterfinals.

Of the top seeds, though, only Tualatin has been beaten.


Springfield keeps win streak alive and well

The Millers edge rival Thurston at cheerleading state finals
Feb. 11, 2012 / By Cliff Pfenning, oregonsports.com

Springfield overcame a strong performance from rival Thurston to win a state title for the eighth-straight year Saturday at the OSAA/U.S. Bank/Les Schwab Tires state cheerleading championships.

Thurston finished ahead of Springfield in the coed division scoring, but had a one-point penalty from its routine and that boosted the Millers ahead by just .55 points, 70.25 to 69.70.

Tualatin and Westview both won titles for the second-straight year, switching their divisions from last year. Tualatin, the Class 6A Small division champion in 2011, won the 6A/5A Large division, while Westview, the large division champion last year, won the 6A Small division title by just 0.7 points over Newberg, which finished second for the third consecutive year.

The Timberwolves edged Clackamas by just 0.72 points, making the event one of the most competitive championships since scoring was added to OSAA results in 2001.

In other finals, Wilson won at Class 5A Small, while Sweet Home won at Class 4A Large. North Marion won at Class 4A Small for the sixth-straight year.

North Douglas won the Class 3A title for the second time in three years.





RSS feed