Summer tournaments busy around state

Little League all-stars play throughout July and into August
Staff Report

The state's best baseball and softball players will be chasing Murrayhill of Beaverton and Pendleton as the Little League all-star tournaments begin across Oregon.

All-star teams of 11- and 12-year-olds from Oregon's leagues are eligible to reach the World Series.

The baseball series is played in Williamsport, Pa., Aug. 18-28, while the softball series is played at Alpenrose Dairy in Southwest Portland, Aug. 11-17.

Tokyo, Japan won the baseball title last summer. Warner Robins, Ga., won the softball title.

Murrayhill won the baseball title for the 10th time last year, going 5-1 in the state tournament, which has been held since 1959. This year's champion advances to the six-state Northwest Region, Aug. 5-13, in San Bernardino, Calif.

Only two leagues from Oregon: Rose City in 1958 and Murrayhill in 2006, have advanced to the World Series.

Pendleton won the softball title last year. The Oregon champion will play in the 10-state West Region tournament, July 23-29, in San Bernardino.

District tournaments differ throughout the nine districts in Oregon with some using a pool-play format, while others use a double-elimination bracket.