Burns, Hermiston, Culver, Roseburg win again

Burns takes its 10th straight team title, Henley claims its first
By Cliff Pfenning, oregonsports.com

The favorites, including a first-time champion, won all five  team races at the OSAA/U.S. Bank/Les Schwab Tires state wrestling meet Saturday at Memorial Coliseum.

Burns claimed its record 10th straight title, taking the Class 3A title by a wide margin. Hermiston and Culver won their fifth-straight titles, while Roseburg won four titles and finished second twice among the 14 weight classes. Roseburg scored a meet-high 212 points, more than double the score of second place Sprague.

The title for Burns moved it closer to the overall school record for titles held by Lowell at 13. Burns has 11.

Henley, which had only finished as high as once, scored 172 points to win at Class 4A.


State readies for wrestling showcase

OSAA Finals set for Friday, Saturday at Memorial Coliseum
By Cliff Pfenning, oregonsports.com

The annual pilgrimmage to Portland for the state wrestling championships might got a little more challenging Thursday morning when a snowstorm hit most of the state, but that's not likely to keep the defending champions away from Memorial Coliseum.

And Henley, too.

Roseburg, at Class 6A, Hermiston at Class 5A, Burns at Class 3A and Culver at 2A are poised to repeat as team champions, but the Class 4A race appears very competitive as the start of the OSAA.U.S. Bank/Les Schwab Tires meet approaches Friday morning.

At Class 3A, Burns is the clear favorite to win its 10th-straight title as it has four seniors ranked No. 1 at their weights.

Hermiston and Culver will be chasing their fifth straight titles.

At Class 4A, Henley enters ranked No. 1 in the Oregon Wrestling Forum rankings despite never having won a title. In fact, Henley has only claimed one trophy - second in 1967 throughout the history of the tournament, which began in 1948. The Hornets enter with just one wrestler seeded as high as second: senior Justyn Headley at 189 pounds; but have 16 wrestlers entered at the 14 weights, including two each at five different weights.

At Class 2A, Lowell appears as a strong contender to upend Culver in what could be a very competitive team race. Both schools have four wrestlers seeded No. 1. Lowell, which finished second last year, has two second seeds, while Culver has just one. Culver, though has 10 entrants, while Lowell has just nine.

Lowell is the overall leader in state titles with 13, but it hasn't won since 1991.

The meet champions will be crowned Saturday night when finals begin at 6 p.m.



State wrestlers have many awards for service

Dave Schultz Award is an annual treasure
Staff Report

The Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award, presented annually to a high school senior, is based equally on outstanding wrestling success, scholastic achievement and citizenship or community service. Winners are chosen at the state and regional levels with the national winner being named at the Wrestling Hall of Fame's Honors Weekend each summer.
The award is named in honor of the 1984 Olympic Gold Medalist who died from a gunshot wound in 1996. Schultz won a world title and five other medals in world championship events and was an assistant coach at Oklahoma, Standford and Wisconsin.


1997            Kenny Cox, Churchill

1998            Brian Watson, Canby

1999            Jason Harless, Bonanza

2000            Justin Godley, Crater

2001            Shane Webster, Crater

2002            Eric Stevenson, Newberg

2003            Kyle Larson, Hermiston

2004            Sean Santana, Newberg

2005            Bryson Gutches, Churchill

2006            Zach Giesen, North Valley

2007            Ryan Smith, Crook County

2008            Jarrett Owens, Tillamook

2009            R.J. Pena, Sprague

2010            Alex Elder, West Salem


Roseburg heads list of team winners at state meet

Hermiston, Burns, Culver keep streaks alive
By Kevin Mealy, oregonsports.com

PORTLAND - In a night dominated by traditional powerhouses, Roseburg reclaimed its spot atop the class 6A ranks while Hermiston, Burns and Culver all continued title runs at the OSAA/U.S. Bank/Les Schwab Tires state wrestling championships at Memorial Coliseum.

Roseburg won the 6A title for the third time in four years by scoring 298.5 points, just missing the record of 303 set last year by Hermiston at the 5A level. Hermiston finished with 269 points and its fourth-straight title since the OSAA expanded from four classes to six in 2006-07.

Burns won it’s ninth-straight title at Class 3A and Class 2A Culver matched Hermiston with it’s fourth-straight title.

Scappoose scored only its second title by upending defending championg Sweet Home, 195 to 182. The Indians, with a long tradition but only one title in 1974, built an early lead in the tournament and matched the Huskies the rest of the way. Both teams finished with nine place-winners.

The tournament’s traditional powers showed up in several finals that featured intrasquad rivalries. In the round of finals at 119 pounds, CJ Dircksen and Joey Delgado of Hermiston fought it out for the 5A championship one mat from Dan Faas and Reed Van Anrooy of Roseburg who were wrestling for the 6A championship. “It really sucks, because we’re both good buddies,” said Faas, the top-ranked wrester at the weight. “We got milkshakes and Slurpies together this morning, but when it comes to the mat we’re supposed to hurt each other.”

Faas, a senior, won his second state title against his unranked freshman teammate. That match was followed by a pride battle between Reed Van Anrooy’s older brother Drew, and second-place Newberg’s three-time champion Tommy Siciliano. In a spirited and controversial match that had half the Coliseum’s spectators on their feet, Siciliano did just enough to hold off Van Anrooy and become the 18th wrestler in Oregon history to win four titles.

Siciliano survived an apparent late takedown by Van Anrooy - which was reversed for the two being out of bounds, and won 3-2 as fans booed for his stalling in the final 15 seconds.

Siciliano was so nervous that he spent much of his post-match celebration throwing up in a garbage can while being slapped on the back by jubilant teammates.

In Class 3A, Burns, which won the title last year by just 2.5 points, scored a 38-point victory over Reedsport, which won a pair head-to-head championship finals.

Burns senior Dallas Root won the 125-pound title for the Hilanders as well as his family.

“I’ve wrestled since the fourth grade, so that’s nine years, and I have two older brothers who wrestled,” Root said. “It’s always been a dream to have a state champion in the family and in my final year, now we do.” Culver took home the Class 2A title by outscoring Lowell 139.5-95.

The Bulldogs have won or finished runner-up in eight of the last nine years.

RSS feed